Many teenagers now have the their own smartphone what are the advantages and disadvantages of this and give your opinion.

Some would argue that having smartphones for adolescents is useful, while others say that can be harmful to them. While these electronic devices help young children for safety, I believe this can be badly affected for educational performance.

The main advantage of having own smartphone for teenagers is for safety purpose. While they are away from homes if it is an emergency that they can contact their parents immediately by using phone apps. Android and iPhones introduced many apps such as WhatsApp, Viber, Google map etc. Therefore, they really help them to send messages and location point in an urgent situation. So, parents can track the location, and find their kids, if somebody kidnaps the child or something happens while they are on the way to home. For example, a recent research study of the USA found that more than 40 % of teens used smartphone's location sharing option to inform their location to police when they kidnapped.

Many young children use smartphones for a long time per day means the time for the studies is limited. And also, these devices more likely to be made them in addictive behaviour because of these devices made in an attractive way by using cutting-edge technology. So, they are not able to pay attention properly for learning, and this will result in poor exam marks. For example, a recent research study about failure in grade 11 exam at Doha schools found that more than 50% of children at sixteen-years-old failed due to playing games on Samsung phones. Therefore, I believe that these devices make the distraction for the studies.

In conclusion, although smartphones can be beneficial for adolescents to contact their home in the safety context, as they will prefer to spend more time on mobile applications because of this they will fail in the exam.