Many teenagers now have their own smartphone. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this and give your own opinion?

In the era of global connectivity, smartphones play a pivotal role in connecting us to the outside world thus many teenagers now have their own smartphones. Although there are a plethora of advantages as compared to disadvantages for adolescents in owning a smartphone. In my opinion, smartphones provide connectivity but also act a vast reserve of knowledge for juvenile minds. In the below paragraphs I will put forward the benefits and drawbacks on this contentious topic with relevant examples.

First and foremost owning a smartphone allows teenagers to stay connected to the internet, browse content and grasp knowledge which enhances their skills and act a source of skill development. For instance, many smartphones are embedded with applications like YouTube, Google web browser which provides in-depth knowledge on subjects like sports, science, geography and history thus enhancing the general knowledge of adolescents. Additionally, smartphones act as a tool for doing various complex mathematical calculations and a device for the storage of critical data. For instance in India according to a recent survey done by global times, it was published that around 70 per cent of adolescents is owning smartphones for use in areas like storage and calculations.

Despite the benefits, there are drawbacks too, the most prominent one being the usage of smartphones by adolescents for playing addictive online games which distracts them and in turn affects their tertiary education grades. As per the recent survey was done by Times Global, it was published that around 80 per cent of kids use smartphones for playing online games thus affecting their school grades.

To conclude it is evident that advantages outweigh the disadvantages as in my opinion smartphones not only acts a tool not only for voice calls but also acts as a multipurpose device which enables teenagers for increasing knowledge from various sources available on the internet.