Some people say that industrial growth is necessary to solve poverty, but some other people argue that industrial growth is creating environmental problems and it should be stopped. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

it is true that industrialization is necessary for solving issues like poverty but although, it creates environmental problems like pollution. I will discuss both sides of this contentious argument and present my opinion.

To elucidate, there are myriad of advantages with the proliferation of industries but the most preponderant one being it helps to create jobs which further reduces unemployment and thus poverty. For developing countries like India and China, it is quite evident in the past century that with the growth of industries in the manufacturing sector has helped a vast majority of the population in curbing unemployment and bring these families out of poverty.

Though on the other hand it is argued that industries should be stopped as they a hazard for our environment especially the chemical and the carbon emission which are now directly impacting our environment. As can be seen from the recent trends globally that our fresh water reserves like lakes and rivers are getting polluted which can have a devastating effect on the ecological balance of our planet. Similar examples are evident from developing countries like India and China where carbon emissions levels have gone drastically higher as compared to the last decade thus making the air toxic for the local population. In the last few years governments have realized this issue and for the sake of protecting our environment, they have started a campaign to be carbon neutral which includes shutting down of many industries which burn the vast amount of fossil fuel which is a serious threat to our environment. In India, the government has already made commitments globally to reduce carbon emissions thus it is introducing renewable energy like solar and wind machines as an alternative to limit the pollution.

To conclude in my opinion though industries are a source of generating employment and reduce poverty but in the long run we must remember that industries which produce chemical and carbon waste are impacting our environment and thus our survival in the longer so, In my opinion, we must promote renewable source of energies which can help curb pollution and help in generating additional employment.