The good and bad effects of technological advancement are inextricably intertwined. There are people who believe progress in technology is imperative to eradicate destitution. Others, however, deny this assertion and claim this is hazardous to the environment and need to be stopped. I delve into both sides of argument, while I strongly side with former.

Modernization like other human progress create havoc on environment in several ways. The major negative effect is environmental pollution which brings about irreparable damage to our natural resources including water, air and soil. Toxic gas emission, fumes resulting from industry adversely affect the climate. The discharge of industrial waste into water reservoir pollute the water supply and water shortage would be its cause. Soil erosion, destruction of animals’ natural habitat and pristine places are the other issues related to industrialization. Although industry is detrimental to ecosystem and to our health, it can be managed by effective pollution control measures.

On the other hand, poverty is the root of all evil, as it has been a major issue in many developing nations. To wipe out poverty altogether, countries need to be industrialized. Firstly, industrialization serves the needs of society by improving its economy. This paves the way to high productivity which causes ample employment opportunities to open up. Secondly, manufacturers enjoy more profitability and efficient workforce. Profitability enhance when more and more goods are manufactured and enter domestic and foreign market. Automation also help this to be achieved by reducing manual work and monitoring staff performance. For example, many poverty stricken countries like Japan now enjoy prosperous economy and wealth which they used to suffer poverty.

To sum up, in my opinion, industrial growth opens new doors for people such as improved living condition and better medical equipment, to name but a few.