Many things that used to be done in the home by hands are now being done by machines. Does this development bring more advantages or disadvantages?

Presently many people can hardly imagine their life without devices. However, some people think that household appliances pose many problems. In this essay I will consider both the positive and negative points, concluding it with my opinion that they bring more advantageous effect on our life.

Let us start with the positive sides of using machines at home. The ability to spend more time on enjoyable things is one of the merits. People, who are busy working , usually have little time for their children and hobbies, but with the help of modern appliances, they devote more of themselves to these pleasant activities. Another positive side of using household techniques is that they can spare labor-consuming tasks. Many wifes just load, for example, a washing machine or dishwasher rather than their grandmothers would regularly do these chores manually from morning till night. The last benefit is that these devices secure better results than humans. In comparison to people, computerized machines usually show high-quality results, since they operate in various modes and never change intensity.

Despite the above mentioned advantages, household apparatus have a few drawbacks. The first disadvantage is that these devices often malfunction. As other appliances in houses, washing machines, for instance, tend to stop functioning, when the voltage either increases or drops dramatically. The development of heavy reliance on such devices in families is another negative side. It often occurs that people are unaware of what to do when a electricity blackout lingers for more than one day. As result, they reluctantly resort to traditional methods of doing around the house. The last demerit of utilizing machines in home is that they require delicate usage. People are prone to breaking fragile details, for example, by forgetting to clean the inside of a dishwasher after having been exploiting for a long time.

In conclusion, although household apparatus may cause some inconvenience, I believe that they bring many more benefits than drawbacks. In fact, they often save us from many difficulties far beyond their warranty period if people thoroughly follow the user manual.