Many working people get little or no exercise either during the working day or in their free time, and have health problems as a result.

Why do so many working people not get enough exercise?

What can be done about this problem?

In recent years, many employees are spending most of their day working, and have almost no chance to include sports in their daily routine, which causes them health issues. This essay will highlight both the reasons behind the negligence of exercising among working individuals, and methods to mitigate such a negative approach.

To begin with, there are various factors contributing to the little concern given to sports among employees nowadays, one of which is the relatively long working hours that companies require from their staff. This happens because employers often target to reduce salaries budget via hiring less people who are required work longer hours to get the job tasks accomplished. Consequently, since people are struggling with extended work hours, domestic chores and other life responsibilities, they tend to have no or little room for exercising. These conditions have led individuals to be extremely exhausted and in real danger of suffering from health problems on the long run.

Nevertheless, there might be some effective strategies to tackle such a harmful trend. Firstly, the labour authorities should impose a law that limits the maximum working hours that institutions demand from their staff. Secondly, for business institutions where extended working hours is necessary, a gym facility should be established and employees to be provided with an exercise break on daily basis. As a result, the company’s personnel would be more likely to release work pressure, become fitter and healthier and job performance would be improved in return.

In conclusion, Although the approach of extended work hours has led many people to give up exercising, the problem can be handled by legally forcing employers to reduce work time or to equip premises with sports equipment and offer employees an exercising break.