Many of the world’s cities are currently facing a serious housing shortage.

What are some of the reasons for this shortage and what solutions can you suggest?

In this essay I am going to discuss the contemporary housing shortage in the big cities. It seems that the root of this problem is that the population is growing faster in the cities than in the rural territories, which people are leaving. In the final part of the essay I will give some suggestions on how problems with the scarcity of houses can be solved.

The first reason for such a shortage is that the city provides many more opportunities for work than the country.Therefore, people move to the towns in the search for better jobs (in search of). For instance, instead of working hard in the field they can enjoy calm and easy work in comfortable urban offices. Accommodation in the cities is also more convenient, especially if one lives in a flat, where not much cleaning is necessary. As a result, people’s quality of life increases.

The second reason is that most of the universities and colleges are in towns. Therefore people who come to study there need somewhere to live. Although universities often provide accommodation, students often get married during their studies and choose to stay in the city after their graduation. Because they have got used to living in the city, which incidentally has a bigger job market, life for many of them is better than before. They can spend their spare time in a wide variety of ways.

In conclusion, the scarcity of accommodation for new inhabitants is a really huge problem, and the demand for houses cannot be satisfied easily. Hence, it is necessary to persuade people to stay in or to go back to the country by creating new jobs, study facilities and entertainment services there.