The mark of a successful person is to be wealthy and have a successful career.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

This statement doesn’t reflect a hundred percent the reality in my point of view. Actually, I would say that it’s an incomplete idea. Indeed, richness is an aspect of life that is important for make someone successful however there are a few other aspects that should be considered when we’re talking about this. So, health, family and relationships are personal sides of the life that are tremendously relevant for someone who’s seeking being a successful person as well.

I would argue that having a strong carrier is a big challenge for most of us. In fact, an impressive job and progression in a career usually take so much efforts from people and this totally worth it in my opinion. Having money saved for retirement, living in a large house and, either, having a fancy car are results of people’s efforts in their careers. Also, I think that who achieves these status deserve to enjoy all rewards that come with it.

Despite of all these positive aspects, I don’t think that it is all. Although, I really believe that are some personal skills that are truly relevant for successful persons. If they have all influence and status from a high level career but they left their relationships behind with their relatives or children, I think these guys have failed. By this, I mean that people should learn how to balance all areas of their lives. If one of them was neglected, they won’t be able to be a successful person.

Then, this balance in the life is so important that we can see some statistics from University of Manitoba saying how many businesses wealthy people are unhappy, at least in Canada. In fact, the level of suicide and divorce is thirty and forty-five percent bigger in high productive people than in others, respectively. If you invest too much energy in only your career, this means that something is not going as expected with some other area; and really should have your attention.

Therefore, I don’t totally agree that people who have only a wealthy life or well-developed career are truly successful. Otherwise, I think that invest in emotional health or even in cozy relationships are as important as that.