Men and women employed in full-time jobs should share the
responsibilities of household chores. Do you agree or disagree?
Share relevant personal experiences.
With women demonstrating their ability to perform just as well as men on the global
professional stage, it is no wonder that more and more men are taking on the
responsibilities of domestic life. It is argued that all household chores should be
distributed evenly between dual income couples. The virtues of this arrangement
will be shown by looking at the positive effects it has on both children and the
relationship quality the married couple experiences.
For one, parents who share housework provide a good example to their children of
the importance of empathy. For instance, while working in Dubai, I taught English to
children of several dual income families. These children were very proactive when it
came to helping their parents with household duties. Looking back, I feel these
children acted in this selfless manner in response to the living models their parents
provided. As this example shows, parents who equally shoulder the burden of
household duties pass on worthy character traits to their children.
In addition to this, the relationship quality married couples experience can benefit
from their sharing in the challenges of day-to-day life. For example, although my
own mother never worked, she was always very gracious of my father when he
would take the time to help her with duties around the house. This sharing in
hardship helped to strengthen my parents’ union and acts as yet another benefit to
the equal divvying of household duties between married couples.
After looking at how equal burden can benefit a married couple’s children and
relationship, it is clear that this is an opinion that should be supported.