Men do most of the high-level jobs. Should the government encourage a certain percentage of these jobs to be reserved for women?

What is your opinion on that?

Use your own knowledge and experience and support your arguments with examples and relevant evidence.

In today's job market, majority of the top-level posts are occupied by Males. Although a section of people support the idea of reservation in high-level jobs for women, I do not accord with this notion at all, and will explain in my further paragraphs.

To embark on, men and women are given equal opportunity in every sector now-a-days. However, most of the job sectors are male dominated, so does the top-levels such as CEOs, MDs and Directors of organization. The idea of reservation is not at an encouraging idea for any society because reservation creates division in the society, and it deprives the eligible one. Let’s say, government impose 30% reservation for women in every sector of job, and what if in particular job the female applicants are extremely low, then what will happen: undeserving candidate will be selected or deserving talented male candidate may face rejection because of reservation?

I do agree that in few places women are not given equal importance such as in manufacturing industry, construction farms etc. as these sector demands more physical labor. Therefore, it is obvious that the managing levels will be captured by males in these particular sectors. However, by using technology, hard physical labor can be done with ease. For instance, in Japan, 50% women are working in every sector, even in manufacturing and mining, as they use robotic arms in heavy lifting. Thus, all works can be done by any gender. Secondly, mental ability of women are better than man, as a result in many IT farms, analytical and marketing ventures are hiring women. Therefore, several giants in these sectors are handled by women. Does these industries demand any reservation for men? It is just the utilization of resources wisely and nurturing them properly.

To recapitulate, reservation has nothing to do with empowering women. As a whole, government and society must encourage woman to participate in every job, but should not support reservation.