Over the last decades scientist and medical experts have been witnessing an alarming increase in obesity among children. Once regarded as a common medical condition affecting adults and older people, obesity is taking its toll on the younger generations as well. The aim of this essay is to find out the most probable causes and propose some effective solutions.

Obesity is nothing more than an abnormal or excessive accumulation of fat. Defining it is also quite simple. Not so simple is treating it. The list of illnesses linked to obesity is as long as scaring: cardiovascular disturbs, including hearth attack, stroke, high-blood pressure and type 2 diabetes. The list could continue but it is enough to understand how threatening this condition could be, especially for children. In most of the cases the combination of dietary risk factors and physical inactivity is responsible for overweight. Environmental, metabolic, hormonal and genetic factors can also induce obesity. Children are more at risk these days as they were in the past because they spend sometimes too much time on PC and mobile phones and do not do enough exercise.

Although the medical conditions mentioned above depict a rather dark situation, the good news is that obesity can be effectively treated. Even modest loss of weight can have an extraordinary impact on the general clinical condition. When it comes to children, parents and school should take charge and support children in the fight against this condition. The solutions are relatively simple and no drugs or operations are needed. First of all, children should change their diet by introducing more vegetables, fruits and cutting on high-calories soft drinks, fruit juices, fast food and cakes. Secondly, the most effective way to lose weight is by doing exercise. Parents should encourage children to do sports and to play outside. With a sedentary life style the likelihood of taking in weight increases dramatically.

In conclusion, parents should be aware of the fact that obesity is a widespread phenomenon among children and that serious actions should be taken to tackle it. Obesity is not just a cosmetic concern. It is a dangerous medical condition that increase the probability of being struck by other severe health problems.