Modern children are suffered from the diseases that were once considered to be meant for adults only. Obesity is a major disease prevalent in children. What are its causes and what solution can be offered ?

Obesity is among those diseases which are once associated only with adults but nowadays many kids are suffered from this dangerous illness. The primary cause of this problem is eating more fast food, and the best solution to overcome from this issue is to educate children about its bad effect on their health.

Growing popularity of restaurants serving junk food such as The Burger King, attract more teenagers to visit their outlets and to eat high calories items more often. This is to say that people under 18 are more passionate about eating the fatty food because eating at fast-food joints is in the trend these days. And as a result, children are regularly crossed their daily calories limit and ending up by gaining weight. For example, an average burger and fries contain around half of the daily energy requirement of a kid.

To tackle this problem, the government should launch a publicity campaign in the media and in schools to educate people about the danger of being obese. Most people might not know about the side effects of obesity, such as diabetes and that is why neither they stop eat unhealthy food nor they do physical exercises. An awareness campaign can shed some light on this difficult situation and force young ones to think twice before eating fast food. For example, a similar initiative in Japan resulted in 46% decrease in obesity related problems in children.

To conclude, children are suffering from obesity related problems due to their eating habits such as eating high energy food, however this can be solved by launching an awareness campaign.