Modern communications mean that it’s no longer necessary to write letters.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Technology makes many things easier, one of those is communications. Nowadays, we have phone, email, social networking which connect us to other people rapidly. To hand-writing letters, my point is that there is no longer much room for hand-writing letters in modern life.

First and for most, online-communications are so quick and convenient for people to use. In the past, family members lived far away had to wait for weeks to hear from each other. But now, we just need a second to send a message on our phones. Thanks to Internet, although I am living abroad, I talk to my parents every day, I even know what they have for lunch, for dinner.... Online-communications absolutely make the world smaller. It is nature result that they have replaced conventional communicating methods

However, some nostalgic people still want to keep the good old days with hand writing letters, they feel that letters contain much more "love" than those messages on screens. So they keep writing letters, cards etc. Thus, hand-writing letters still have a tiny room to exist with those people. Anyway, not many people can keep this habit. In addition, it is not how we write to each other, it is how we care about each other that show our love.

In conclusion, online- communications are doing a great job in connecting people. People have a lot of sweet memories with hand-writing letters but people always move forward and leave the past behind. It is sad but true that hand-writing letters have been disappearing from our life.