It is often debated that a country's governing body should bear the costs for education of students who enroll in focussed specialized on-demand study program and provide no assistance to other less in demand study program. This essay will firstly discuss the advantages of such a benefit and followed with drawbacks of this approach and culminating with a rationalized conclusion.

One major benefit that arises from this method is an focussed resource development in targeted fields. This drastically helps in advancement and a faster evolution of the focussed area. With abundant highly skilled students graduating out with the help of government aid results in higher number of specialized workers joining the workforce. Such a workforce is highly productive and requires less to none initial training upon employment. This is huge benefit to the employers as these workforce start contributing from Day one. For example, school aid and scholarship programs were offered by Government of California in 1960 to the students enrolling in computer chip related studies, which led to significant accelerated development in field of micro-processors.

The biggest disadvantage that stems out of this approach is partial imbalanced development of society. A company is a multi-level and multi-dimension operating entity. It doesn't only need the focussed students that are specialized in selected fields only, but rather also other employees who can contribute in other non-specialized domains. This approach creates a partial empty void that has to be filled somehow directly or indirectly. This leads to outsourcing of such fields where less talented pool is available and is major aspect offsetting the economic balance in the company. As an example, a survey done in 2010 by Times Job found 90% of manufacturing jobs are now outsourced out of USA.

To conclude, the drawbacks outweigh the advantages as seen from above points as this would create a partially imbalanced society which does not benefit overall development of a society.