More and more money is being invested in preventative care. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this approach.

A considerable number of people assert that diverting resources towards prevention serves a noble purpose. Others, on the other hand, are adamant opponents of the aforementioned view, claiming that we should pay more attention to cure. As far as I am concerned, the underlying advantages and disadvantages inherent to the brought forth prompt must be pondered upon prior to coming up with a firm conclusion.

On the one hand, there may be advantages galore to stressing prevention as a feasible medical practice. For one thing, it is a cost efficient approach since all it takes is avoidance in certain circumstances and making correct judgment calls in others. Furthermore, prevention is, oftentimes, hassle-free. For example, not allowing a barber to use a razor when he is giving a haircut may seem like a trivial decision to make. However, this very same decision can be tantamount to a life-saving choice.

On the other hand, prevention alone doesn’t guarantee anyone an illness free life. So, I personally tend to believe that being primarily focused on prevention will not only leave countless people at risk but will also lead to exacerbating the field of medical research. Take, for instance, an HIV positive child born to an HIV positive mother. It is unanimously agreed upon that no form of prevention can help a child born to an HIV positive mother. Hence, by ignoring cure and stressing prevention we will be depriving this innocent child of a chance to live.

To synopsize, I am of the opinion that despite the advantages inherent to prevention is tantamount to ignoring the very foundation of medicine based upon an immaculate combination of prevention and cure. Besides, many illnesses, as analyzed above, cannot be fully prevented.