More and more people are becoming seriously overweight. Some say that increase in price of fast food will solve this problem. To what extent do you agree with this statement?

These days, obesity has become a serious issue in our society. A significant number of people believe that a price hike in fast food is a viable solution for this problem. In my opinion, I totally agree with their point of view,

To start with, there is no doubt that many people opt for unhealthy food due to its convenience and cheaper availability. This ultimately leads to health issues within societies such as, obesity. Therefore, in order to control for its over consumption, governments must consider raising the prices of such foods. It is a well-known fact that with the boom in prices of any commodity, it becomes less and less affordable for increasing number of people, as s a result, fewer people are likely to consume it. Many people will start considering it as a luxury and rather than consuming it, for example, thrice a week, may choose to buy it only once every week.

Moreover, many governments are already practicing this strategy in case of alcohol and tobacco products, where it has proven to be a successful one. We have also seen this to happen in the transport industry, where governments impose taxes on fuel prices to encourage people to use more and more public transport. Hence, it is not a new concept and governments should consider implementing this in the fast food industry as well.

To recapitulate, I strongly support the view of increasing the prices of unhealthy food to control for obesity as it is likely to reduce the consumption of unhealthy food and is already successfully practiced in other industries.