More people are spending their free time watching movies. Why is this? Is it a good thing or bad thing?

These days, many people prefer to spend their leisure time by sitting in front of television to watch movies. This is mainly because of increase in work load which barely leaves enough energy in individuals to indulge themselves in any physical activity. In my opinion, I believe it to be a bad thing as it is likely to increase health issues to the society.

There is no doubt that people these days are bearing excessive work load than ever before. They usually spend long working-hours at their offices, which barely leaves energy in them to participate in any physical activities. They hence choose to watch movies for entertainment purposes that helps them to relax. In addition, the advertising industry and media is also promoting actors and actresses in various glamourous ways which encourages the youth to follow these stars by watching their movies.

In my opinion, I regard it as a bad thing because it promotes unhealthy lifestyle among people. People must sit for long hours in front of a television to watch a movie which barely involves any physical movement. Therefore, it is likely to cause obesity in people, which in turn can lead to various health problems. In addition, I believe one should spend their free-time in active activities for example, dance, swimming, yoga or even music classes which can help individuals to develop their skill-set rather than wasting their time in passive activities such as watching movies.

To recapitulate, many people opt to watch movies because of excessive work-load and the desire to follow their favorite actors and/or actresses. However, I regard such a trend to be detrimental for the society as it is likely to lead to various health issues among people.