More people are spending their free time watching movies. Why is this? Is it a good thing or bad thing?

While people spend their leisure time, these days, doing different activities, some prefer to spend their free time seeing movies. Since elimination of stress, which is caused by hectic work or study schedule, and rehabilitation are essential in order to be mentally healthy, so some people indulge in watching movies. This essay will discuss key reasons for it. In my opinion, its benefits outweigh the drawbacks; therefore, it is a positive activity.

Dismissal of strain and restoration are crucial after a long working day. It is medically evident that a large proportion of population who are frequently involved in some sort of tough working routine is often affected from anxiety and trauma; this could to severe health mental and physical health issues. Getting involved in viewing movies is a feasible option as it could relieve stress and strain; so most people adopt this as a pastime task. A recent survey conducted by Oxford University concluded that indulgence in watching TV shows has lowered huge levels of anxiety in a large number of people.

Despite the advantages it has, it might have certain disadvantages. Excessive involvement in watching TV will result in the waste of valuable time. Students could become the victim and may spend most of their time at home viewing pictures. This could, however, be a constructive habit because of the fact that acquisition of knowledge is possible. That is to say that, some movies, which are based on technology, culture and history, are educational and they provide valuable information that is beneficial for learners. Times, which is a popular magazine in USA, recently reported that education films is accountable to impart knowledge among people of different age groups.

To sum up, watching films is a pastime for some; yet it may have certain cons. However, its pros outweighs its cons because it rehabilitates and relieves stress. Thus, it can be regarded as a helpful activity.