More and more people are moving away from an agricultural background to cities in order to look for work.

What will be the consequences of this?

What solutions can be offered?

At present, a growing number of people from farming regions are relocating to urban ones to find employment. This migration causes some negative impacts on cities, which the government needs deal with. This essay will consider these challenges and suggest possible solutions.

Let us start with problems the relocation of people from agricultural areas to city in search of jobs. The first problem is that the country often experiences a shortage of crops. The supply of crops to large cities may decline, since farmers will stop growing both vegetables and fruit. Another negative repercussion is that cities may become overpopulated. City councils will be driven either to find accommodation or develop new buildings for former villagers, who come in large numbers, in the densely populated districts. Furthermore, farming industry may become weaker. Children from rural areas will gradually forget how to plant and irrigate crops, resulting in the loss of gardening skills and importing farm agricultural products abroad.

City authorities can take the following action to solve the above mentioned difficulties. First of all the government can create more workplaces. For example, it can open a factory that will process crops for export, so that villagers will stay in the countryside rather than move to cities. Secondly, the agriculture minister can equip farmers with machines. The government can interest people in rural regions with modern technology, such as tractors and harvesters, so that they can be content with their work in the field and think that the state cares for them. Moreover, it can subsidise them in the sowing season. Farmers can work diligently and eagerly if authorities suggest them financial support and loans at lower interest, so that they can purchase more cars as well as develop new field for seeding.

In conclusion, the migration of job seekers from rural places to cities may cause a plenty of problems, but it is possible to avoid them by assisting them in countryside.