More and more people are now considering wearing fashionable clothes very important. Is it positive or negative?

Wearing the latest trends in clothing has always been significant to people. Nowadays, these trends include expensive designer labels that people compel to buy. Such trend led to a negative development in fashion, where only the wealthy can afford the perks associated with the wearing the latest fashion.

In my opinion, clothing acts like a form of communication today. Several studies show that people who dress better win more promotions and earn more money. The problem is that expensive designer labels are affordable to just a small percentage of population. As a result, many people with impressive resume, intelligence or strong work ethics are often overlooked for jobs based on appearance. This has caused an unfair bias in hiring practices and has negatively affected the workplace dynamic.

Some people argue that by looking at what people wear you can tell what kind of person they are, but I think that this is untrue, and although I would agree that clothing communicates a person’s wealth and taste, it does not accurately represent what a person is capable of in life. Such as, a person can purchase an outfit to make them look like someone they are not. Consequently, Fashion has negatively influenced us to look at a person’s clothes before listening to his opinions. We should focus instead on how a person presents himself on a deeper level, rather than superficially.

Moreover, The influence of high fashion has negatively affected who we hire, who we meet, and who we choose to associate with. in result it made our society shallow, and interested in only people's appearance. Further, fashion has made the gap between the rich and the poor even wider, since those who cannot afford designer labels have a lesser chance of being hired for the job.

With all things considered, it is obvious that fashion plays a cruel and unfair part in the way we live today. In a world where it is “the clothes that make the man”, wearing designer labels has become just as important as what occupation we choose. Ultimately, fashion has negatively affected society as a whole.