More and more people are now considering wearing fashionable clothes very important. Is it positive or negative?

It is true that there have been an increasing number of people wearing stylish clothes with a view to pursuing fashion. There are several factors contributing to this trend, which have various negative influences on people’s lives.

The foremost reason for this trend involves individuals’ adequate financial capacity which derives from the thriving economy. With an abundance of money being left over, after covering basic needs such as food, education and medical care, many people choose to equip themselves with better and more fashionable clothes. Another important factor is the urge of many adults to be more attractive and unique than others. This must involve wearing clothes with novel designs, allowing people, especially young adults to vividly display their distinct characteristics.

Despite the high demand for fashionable garments bringing incentives to the economic development of a society, the negative effects of ceaselessly catching up with the newest fashion trend on people’s lives are numerous. One of which is that the considerable amount of money some people spend on luxurious and stylish garments has made them suffer from financial deficits. It is often the case that a person ends up working excessively long hours in order to cover their huge expenses on clothing. In addition, people in pursuit of fashion are easily encouraged to be greedy and materialistic because they may find it difficult to give up the happiness resulting from satisfying their material needs. Simply, People get addicted to instant gratification. This could in turn make these people develop a sense of alienation as they tend to value material items more than meaningful relationships between people, leading to the deterioration of mutual respect in a society.

In conclusion, competent financial ability and the desire to be better and more unique than others are two causes driving people to purchase in vogue clothes. The decreasing level of mutual respect and the rise in the number of people suffering from financial difficulties as a result of the aforementioned trend can cause more drawbacks which counteract the economic benefits it brings.