More and more people are now considering wearing fashionable clothes very important. Is it positive or negative?

Wearing the latest trends in clothing has always been important to people. Today, these trends include expensive designer labels that people feel pressured to buy. This has led to a negative development in fashion, where only the wealthy can afford the perks associated with the wearing the latest fashion.

In my opinion, clothing acts like a form of communication today. Studies show that people who dress better win more promotions and earn more money. The problem is that expensive designer labels are affordable to just a small percentage of population. As a result, many people with impressive resume, intelligence or strong work ethics are often overlooked for jobs based on appearance. This has caused an unfair bias in hiring practices and has negatively affected the workplace dynamic.

Some people argue that by looking at what people wear you can tell what kind of person they are. I think that this is untrue, and although I would agree that clothing communicates a person’s wealth and taste, it does not accurately represent what a person is capable of in life. Anyone can purchase an outfit to make them look like someone they are not. Fashion has negatively influenced us to look at a person’s clothes before listening to their opinions. We should focus instead on how a person presents themselves on a deeper level, rather than superficially.

The more and more people get "trendy", the greater the expectations in what clothes you should wear increases. People start to categorize what's "cool" and what is not. People already do that, but the expectations are shifted even more. In other words, this or that type of clothing could the only thing that acceptable, the word "cool" or "pretty" defines a smaller range of the type of clothing that is worn by people.

With all things considered, it is obvious that fashion plays a cruel and unfair part in the way we live today. In a world where it is “the clothes that make the man”, wearing designer labels has become just as important as what occupation we choose. Ultimately, fashion has negatively affected society as a whole.