More and more people are suffering from health problems caused by a modern lifestyle, which cannot be treated with modern medicines. Some people think that a return to traditional medicine should be encouraged.

To what extent do you agree?

Nowadays, a modern lifestyle is causing serious health issues to people, which are sometimes hard to diagnose with the latest medical treatments. Therefore, some individuals seem to encourage conventional medicines to follow again. Whilst I disagree with their viewpoint as old methods of treating disease are ineffective to treat some dangerous ailments.

Traditional medicines and herbs are not effective to cure chronic diseases, caused by lifestyle change. In other words, diseases, such as diabetes, cancer, and hypothyroidism are caused by unhealthy eating and less physical workout. Therefore, regular allopathic treatment is advisable to treat these disorders as old medicines do not work adequately in these areas. A journal ‘The Health Safety and Precautions’ of California revealed that about 75% of people have been successfully diagnosed annually for cancer, with chemotherapy and radiotherapy in developed countries; whereas people in remote areas of Africa are still following the conventional methods with only 2% of success rates.

Furthermore, old therapies generally take a long time period to diagnose the illness completely, which sometimes proved fatal. To be more specific, if a person is suffering from an acute disorder, he would require immediate treatment from a surgeon to save his life. Take, Cardio Vascular Diseases (CVDs) for instance, only a cardiologist could treat the person with a surgery or some drugs rather than using Ayurvedic remedies at home. As otherwise, such problems associated with heart can cause more severity or even the death of the person.

In conclusion, I do not believe that returning to conventional medications for treating diseases of the modern era is valid as they have less fulfilling results to cure acute and chronic ailments followed by the modern lifestyle.