More and more people use private cars instead of taking public transport. What are the reasons for this trend? How can the government encourage people to take public transport?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience

Every country whether they are developed, developing or under-developing, is facing some environmental issues. The main problem that nations are suffering from is pollution and one of the predominant reason for the contribution of pollution is excessive use of private cars by the people rather than public vehicles. In following paragraphs, I am going to describe about various causes of this activity and what can official bodies do to inspire public to use public transports.

In this modern era, people are earning huge amount of money and they spend their wealth on buying luxurious cars. Nowadays, every house is having as many cars as number of family members. Every member uses his/her own vehicle when they have to go out. Due to the availability of personal vehicles, individuals do not prefer to travel by public transports because they find it comfortable by travelling on their own four wheeler. Not only comfort but also an another reason of using their own transports is show-off. In order to show the living standard to the society, people use their own vehicles so even if they have to go to the market which is at walk-able distance, they use car.

So, government has to take effective measures that people start using public transports, for example, they should enforce laws like each family should keep only one four wheeler. Furthermore, official bodies should organise camps to aware public about the issues that the society is facing due to the use of personal cars at extreme rate, to illustrate, excessive consumption of fossil fuels, increase in pollution etcetera. Besides that, government should reduce the fares of public transports, provide enough vehicles that people do not have to wait and can travel comfortably.

In conclusion, I would like to say that in today's era, there are several issues that arises due to the great use of private transports rather than public vehicles. It should not only the responsibility of the government but people should also come forward and reduce the use of cars in order to save environment as well as nation.