More people are spending their free time watching movies, why is this? Is it a good or bad?

Large proportions of people are spending their leisure time watching movies and this trend is incessantly increasing. The main reason for this trend is due to people's consideration that watching movies as a pleasure activity and are opting to watch them whenever they have some time. However, this is not a good phenomenon and would have negative repercussions if they are addicted to it.

In general, pupils consider watching movies as a goto-activity, either alone or with family, especially when they have some free time. It is considered as a stress reliever by most salaried individuals belonging to developing countries. For example, In India, watching movies is regarded as a pleasurable activity in weekends which act as a relaxation medium from all the stress developed in workforce over weekdays. Hence, watching movies serve as a great fun time activity which would help people get rid of work pressure.

Despite the reasons stated above, spending time watching movies is just a mere waste of precious time which can rather be spent learning an artistic skill. In addition, watching movies is part of a sedentary lifestyle as it has no physical activity involved. Moreover, continuos and prolonged habit to watch movies would turn into an addiction which would be insurmountable to control if not taken care.

In conclusion, the rise in the number of people watching movies is because of their consideration it as a pleasure activity in their free time. However, time spent doing so is just a waste of their valuable time which can be spent doing something productive.