Most artists earn low salaries and therefore should receive findings from the government in order for them to continue with their work.

To what extent do you agree?

Two days ago, I read an article about artists in Kazakhstan. In the article, the author highlighted that artists are in need of financial backup due to their low salary. This leads one to wonder whether governments should pay extra money to artists. This essay agrees with the idea of financial aid for the following reasons.

The first reason is that this aid will help artists to develop their skills in art. Artists need the government to supply them with financial aid so that they can refine their skills by taking courses. Once they improve their competency in artwork, they will be able to produce high-quality performances to entertain audience and, therefore, boost the public interest in art. For example, according to the top manager of the main theater in Karaganda city, while being provided with financial assistance by the state, the artists have started to take new plays to perform on stage, which in turn have attracted many visitors.

Another reason for financial support to artists is that artists can fully commit to art. Unless the government allocate extra pay for artists, they have to take part-time jobs, which reflects on culture. However, as soon as, the government supply them with extra funding, they can abandon their additional occupation and fully immerse in art. This results in cultural development. For instance, many artists stopped selling clothes in the local market, once the authorities agreed to raise their salary by twenty percent annually.

However, some economists claim that the government should not give artists with financial help. The main argument for this point of view is that there are more important occupations to support. As well as artists, teachers and medical staff have low salaries and need extra pay from the government, but if the authorities allocate aid to the artists, then they will have to decrease the wages in education and health care, which will negatively affect their work. Despite this, the work of artists is also significant as they enrich the public spiritually and culturally.

In conclusion, artists should certainly receive decent support from the government as this will allow them increase their qualifications and leave extra jobs.