Most artists earn low salaries and therefore should receive findings from the government in order for them to continue with their work.

To what extent do you agree?

Yesterday I read an article about the request of artists to the government for a financial support. This leads one to wonder whether governments should grant their request. This essay disagrees with this point of view for the following reasons.

The first reason is that they generate low income. Since the invention of TV and the Internet, people have begun to show low interest in art. This change in taste has caused a negative impact on how much money places of art can generate. Therefore, the government has nothing to take money to provide artists with extra aid. For example, according to the taxation department, over the last ten years the theaters in Karaganda city has caused a considerable loss in the budget of the city since they pay little tax, but request more money.

Another reason why the government should help artists is that there are more important areas of life to support. Apart from artists, authorities allocate money for doctors and teachers, who bring more benefits for society than artists. Thus, the state officials need to secure education and medicine with high salaries before they accommodate the needs of artists.

However, some politicians state that the government should fulfill the needs of artists. The main argument for their opinion is that they entertain society by their work. They claim that artists perform plays, exhibit pictures, and sing songs in front of audience to amuse them, but if the government neglect their requests for better quality of life, there will be none to show art to the public. For instance, on Nauriz day, artist from different regions come to Karaganda city to show customs and traditions of local nationalities. However, their number is decreasing every year because they see little governmental support. Despite this, firstly, the government should focus on the requests of society rather than artists.

In conclusion, governments definitely should not give an extra funding to artists, since art is not a profitable and relatively important area of life in comparison to other occupations.