The television is good for people.

Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of watching television.

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

There is an issue about the influence of television on society. Some media presenters think that it is advantageous to the public, while some social workers argue that it creates many problems. This essay will consider the pros and cons of this source of information.

Let us start with the advantages of spending time watching television. The first positive side is that people are aware of new products in the market through advertisements on TV. TV viewers usually know about the emergence of either high-quality products or burning travel package, so they can purchase them earlier than those who ignore this sort of media. Another merit is that they always have fresh topics from television programs to discuss. People can have heated discussions with others, such as classmates and colleagues, about what they learn from TV, while the rest have nothing to keep the conversation going. Furthermore, television gives people the opportunity to relax. People, who are subjected to hard work, can relieve stress, because they can entertain themselves by different TV programs as well as movies.

Despite the positives effects of television, it has many demerits. Firstly, TV audience waste too much time. People could do more household chores, if they devoted less time to watching different channels, unproductively lying on the sofa. Secondly, they also receive a great deal of unnecessary information from TV. Television is mostly full of useless talk shows, which enlighten nothing meaningful, but constant family quarrels as well as the private life of celebrities. Moreover, TV viewers tend to gain excessive weight. They gradually becomes plump over time, if they spend overly much time in front of TV motionless, which usually results in obesity.

In conclusion, even though television cause many advantages, it also has many negative sides, which people have to deal with, if they are squandering a lot time watching TV.