Most employers do job interviews before offering a position to a person. Do you think this is the best way to do it, or are there better alternatives? What is the best method of choosing employees in your opinion?

Interview are the most common way of recruiting the people and followed by almost all kinds of organization such as corporates, NGO, governments etc. Some people doubt this method of selection and believe other ways should also be exercised. I believe, though interview is the most effective option for selection of employee, some additional measures can also be opted.

Undoubtly, people are recruited based on the performance in an interview and interviewer assesses the various characteristics of person. During an interview, panel may assess the communication skills by asking the candidates to talk on topic for 2-3 minutes. In addition, aptitude level can also be judged based on the logical question which required analysis skills to resolve the problem. Furthermore, interviewee’s command in the required area such as computer, electrical etc. can also be validated through expert member in panel. For instance, I am part of my organization interview panel and judge the computer programming knowledge through real scenarios.

Despite these measures in an interview, sometimes it is seen that employee when put in live situations are not able to perform as expected. It is generally said that it is not possible to judge the person in small interaction during interview. Some candidate mug up all possible questions which can be asked in an interview and deceive the panel. Therefore, extra measures are needed to catch these scenarios as it cost a lot to an organization. Firstly, background check may be done which ensure that employee credentials are trust worthy and his past is not involved in any kind of criminal activities. Secondly, candidate’s manager can be contacted to find out the skill level and working attitude.

To conclude, Interview method will continue to be most used method, however, wherever the positions are in specialized area or for higher position, extra precautions may be taken to avoid post recruitment resentment.