Most people accept that we now live in a globalised world but not everyone agrees that this is beneficial. To what extent is globalisation a positive or negative development?

It is often thought by the majority of the people that they are now residing in a global village, while some believe that it is not beneficial for society. In my opinion, I think that globalization has many benefits in terms of connected world and transportation facilities, but it has some negative impacts on culture too.

On the positive side, development in technology has facilitated communication across the planet. With the help of smartphones and the internet, people can connect with their overseas friends and family members within a fraction of seconds. Multinational companies such as KFC, Walmart and Reliance digital can monitor their business activities and employees through videoconference, skype and other online methods of continuous connections within branches across the world.

Another positive development of globalization is the availability of advanced and quickest means of travelling. In other words, airways facilities make it possible to travel from one corner of the world to another corner comfortably and conveniently. Besides this, it has also saved a lot of time that was wasted in commuting through ships in old times.

On the other side, the globalized world has negative impacts on the culture of different nations. Nowadays, the difference between traditions, languages and fashions are disappearing and the whole world is adopting one type of culture and language which is accepted worldwide. Consequently, the diversity of the Earth with respect to culture would be at the risk of extinction, and it would become a place of boredom.

In conclusion, although globalization would affect the cultural and traditional values of different countries negatively, it has still many benefits for the people to make their life easier and productive.