Most people are undoubtedly influenced by heavy commercialisation and advertising of products; consumers are buying out of desire more than necessity.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Nowadays, due to the influence of intense commercialization and promotional activities by the companies, people are purchasing products that are more of a desire than their actual need. This essay will express full agreement with this view and offer reasons behind it.

To begin with, most people are compelled to purchase unusual items that hardly belong to their basic need as they are lured by the advertisers. Owing to their clever campaigns, consumers often consider an unnecessary product to be highly essential for their everyday lives. Although the necessity to buy such a lavish item hardly stays in their mind, advertisements can induce them to consider buying it. For example, my mother bought an automatic juice maker a few weeks ago after watching an advert on TV. However, after using it for a few days she realised that the product is actually not useful for home use purpose.

In addition, these days manufacturers often produce multiple variants of a same product that can attract customers to purchase beyond their actual need. Going to super shop, people usually get products that are available in multiple colour, taste and flavour. With an intention to try different variants available, they often purchase in an overwhelming quantity. For example, last year, a toothpaste company named Sensodyne observed nearly 20% increase in their revenue, because they had launched four different flavours of toothpaste although the number of users had hardly increased.

In conclusion, I strongly agree with the fact that due to smart promotional activities and introduction of different types of a same product, people nowadays tend to consume beyond their actual necessity and completely out of their desire. This trend is likely to grow in the coming days since marketers would increase their campaigns more.