Most of the people in the cities are not familiar with their neighbours.

What are the causes of this?

What solutions can you suggest?

Living style in the urban areas is different as Compared to rural ones. People residing in the former have fast pace of life and usually do not know actually who is living in their next or front door. The main reason for this is the shift in the ways of spending life. The most viable solution for this will be to create awareness among people for having strong community values.

One of the most significant cause of individuals not being in contact with their neighbours is the paradigm shift in the ways of living. They have to work for longer hours in order to earn a handsome amount of money to make the ends meet. As a result, they do not have enough time to spend neither at home nor to meet the people residing adjacent to their homes. To narrate, it was found out in a survey that due to the change in lifestyle approach 80% of the people are not aware of the residents in their locality.

The most reasonable solution to this would be to run electronic or print media campaigns persuading people to have strong community bonds. Furthermore, fortnightly or monthly some functions can be arranged to indulge people to participate in these so that they get to know each other and exchange words. When they would greet in the meetings, they would be able to realize the significance of familiarizing with each other, and might develop friendship relationships with the street residents. To exemplify, following this practice in Japan resulted in 53% improvement to have good neighbors relationships.

To conclude, a large number of urban dweller do not have even a small contact with their neighbors. This us because of the alteration in the lifestyles. However, it can be solved by making public aware of the importance of mingling in their neighborhood.