Young people in the workforce today are changing their jobs every few years.

What are the reasons for this?

Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

It is commonly observed nowadays that young individuals are frequently switching jobs. They do this for certain reasons which very person to person. I believe this has more benefits.

To begin with, one prominent cause which persuades people to change their employers after some years us that it provides them personal and professional growth. New organization would offer these people a good pay rise and a better grade as compared to the one where they are presently working. But, if they had stayed at the same place, it would have been not possible to promote to upper position and receive 40% increase in the salary after one or two years. For instance, my ex-colleague swapped bank each year and after three years, he got accumulated increase in the pay as 60% whereas employees who have been staying at the same bank their salary increased only by 24% in the same period.

Talking about whether the merits are more or less, I believe it has less demerits. One significant benefit is that adults get exposure and experience as a result of working for various companies. As different practices are being implemented across different industries, this would enable him or her to learn new skillsets and polish previous ones. To narrate, I learnt how to perform a particular task by using different approaches when I switched banks in the last five years three times. However, the one prominent drawback of changing jobs rapidly one after another is that employee is not entitled to the long term fringe benefits offered by an employer such as gratuity. Most of the organizations start gratuity entitlement when a staff has worked for more than three years. Therefore, a worker would not receive the long term financial reward, if he did not work for ten or fifteen years for the same employer.

To conclude, young adults at the present switch jobs for earning high salary and to obtain a better position. Although they won't be getting financial benefits at retirement, I believe the benefits of learning new skills are more.