Movies and computer games containing violence are popular. Some people say they have a negative effect on society and should be censored. Others say they are just harmless relaxation. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, more and more films and computer games are growing in popularity. Many claim that they should be censored because of their contents which is violent. Others, however, are of the opinion that they are only used for relaxing and do not mean any harm. On the basis of some compelling reasons, I think the latter view is more correct.

On the one hand, supporters of censorship contend that movies and video games containing violence would give rise to the crime rate. Through using this media, the audience is subconsciously developing a sense of criminals as all the users experience centers around violence and crime. The advocates of this notion also say that there exist younger people in society and we should be much more careful about them. The younger the users are, the more they are prone to learn from these harmful contents, and, in turn, they might pique these youngsters’ interest which is not good news. Therefore, letting people use those media freely is more akin to training future culprits.

On the other hand, many make the assertion that these computer games and moving pictures are harmless. And they are only a means of entertainment and relaxation from the hectic lifestyle of today’s people. As matter of fact, filtering might work for some time but eventually, people would hear about the censored items, and in turn, they get even more curious. Moreover, what to watch or which game to play is a matter of preference. It simply means that people should have the freedom to choose on their own. However, it is completely true that there might be some contents which are not suitable for certain ages. Here, the best solution may be labeling the films and games for different age groups and educating the public to pick the right packs for their age.

In conclusion, censorship might work for a short period of time, but it might not result in not being used. Generally, I think that movies and video games mean no harm but still some steps can be taken to categorize them into age groups.