Multi-cultural societies, in which there is a mixture of different ethnic people, bring more benefits than drawbacks to a country. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

With the passage of time, there is a progressive increase in the migration of people from one country to another. Hence, people belonging to various ethnicity, religions and castes, amalgamate to form a multi-cultural society. I strongly believe that multi-cultural formations lead to prosperity and growth of a nation, and hence this essay will discuss my views supporting it.

It shall be acknowledged that there are various drawbacks in a society when people from different nations stay together. Migrants, especially, find it difficult to adjust and adapt to the culture of other ethnic groups. People from overseas try to maintain their culture in a new country and thereby create problems to the local residents. In certain cases, this results into clashes amongst different ethnic groups. For example, celebration of certain festival and performing certain rituals by immigrants may not be acceptable to the local community. Although the drawbacks and disadvantages of multi-cultural societies are quite notable, the fact that such societies bring in various advantages in long run cannot be ignored.

Multi-cultural society brings in a wide variety of advantages to a nation, such as economic boost in terms of Gross Domestic Product, enhances trade and commerce, educational opportunities, growth in employment opportunity, etc., to name a few. Perhaps, countries like USA, Canada and Australia, which allow immigrants to migrate to either study or settle on a permanent basis, are the best examples. These countries today are well-known for their multi-cultural environment. People from different ethnicity and religion, enjoy working together. They feel content and enjoy the company of other ethnic group. Multi-cultural societies also lead to a sense of equality with a unique diversity touch.

While multi-cultural societies bring in noticeable drawbacks to a nation, the significant amount of advantages outweigh those in my opinion. Hence, in present scenario, most of the nations are making effort to invite immigrants to settle in their nation on a permanent basis. I strongly agree to the fact that multi-cultural societies not only lead to economic boost of a nation, but also results into better social cohesiveness among people of different ethnicity.