Some people think that good health is a basic human need, so the medical services should not be run by profit-making companies. Do you think the disadvantages of the private healthcare outweigh the advantages?

A sound health is an inevitable requirement for human beings. Some people believe that medical services shall be provided by government at a discounted rate or free of charge, since good health is a right of every human being. However, I personally believe that the advantages of medical services offered by private companies far outweigh its disadvantages.

There are a plethora of advantages of private health care. For instance, one can avail immediate treatment in case of emergency medical conditions such as accidents, heart attack, skin burns due to fire, etc. to name a few. Moreover, private healthcare is also beneficial to people of all age groups, which ensures effective medical treatment.

Furthermore, private hospitals possess the latest medical instruments and equipment. Such hospitals have also deployed advanced technology in place. These private hospitals also provide comprehensive medical services to patients. For example, majority of the multi-specialty hospitals provide gynaecology services and pediatric services under one roof. Such facility ensures that mother and baby receive immediate medical assistance and treatment as required. Additionally, few companies and organizations encourage their employees to avail the benefits of private medical services.

On the other hand, such services come with some drawbacks as well. The consultation fees in private hospitals are relatively high. To avail such services, one has to pay for medical insurance on a monthly basis for every family member, which can prove as a financial burden to some. On top of it, majority of the comprehensive medical plans do not include services related to ophthalmology and dental care. Moreover, some surgeries such as bypass, angioplasty, liver transplant, etc. are very expensive and prove to be out of reach of a patient’s financial capabilities.

Despite of few disadvantages, private medical services ensure good health to patients in need. Even though such services are chargeable and are run for profit making, I believe that the benefits it offers to an individual are quite significant and shadows the disadvantages.