Museums and historical sites are mainly visited by tourists but not local people. Why is this the case? What can be done to attract local people to visit these places?

Most of the historical places such as forts, monuments and museums are a point of attraction for the tourists. It is a common observation that natives / native people do not visit these places. One major reason for this is that visiting such places repeatedly is monotonous.

Plus, the local public do not wish to spend money on entry tickets to visit the same place again and again. However, it is possible to attract local residents to these sites by taking certain measures. This essay will discuss the mentioned causes and the solutions to attract locals to these places.

One important reason for the local public to not visit the local historical places is that they have nothing new to offer. Many prefer to visit multiplexes and amusement parks which are loaded with new attractions. Hence, museums and art galleries which have the same exhibits on display cannot pull the local crowd. Another important reason is the entry fees. Entry fees at museums and historical places can hinder a local tourist from visiting them. No one is interested in paying for entry to see the same artefacts on display again and again. For example, a fort built by King Bhosle at Nagpur has very few local visitors owing to the hefty entry fees.

However, by taking few actions this issue can be taken care of. Adding new attractions to museums and forts can gain the attention of native visitors. Historical places will be able to pull more local crowd if they have additional activities to offer. For example, forts in Rajasthan organise cultural programmes by folk artists who rotate on weekly basis. Such rotation amongst different folk artists for performances can keep a place lively and enjoyable. In addition, waving off the entry fee for the local residents can boost the number of local visitors. To illustrate, the Raman Science Centre at Nagpur is gathering a considerable number of native visitors since it waived off the entry fee for the locals.

In conclusion, the monotony of local historical places can be changed by reviving them with new attractions. Also, entry fee waiver is an important step to push native people to visit local places frequently.