Nowadays the way many people interact with each other has changed because of technology. In what ways has technology affected personal relationships? Has this become a positive or negative development?

In the present era, advanced technology has altered the path people communicate with one another and it is true that technology has affected the relationship in many ways. This essay will discuss the positive and negative effects of social interaction among people.

To begin with, there are several ways in which new communication technology has influenced people’s way of interacting with each other. Firstly, social media applications have revolutionized the way we communicate. Telephones and internet allow the business people to communicate with each other. Secondly, services like skype create new relationships among teachers and students. For instance, a student can now take video lessons with a teacher in a different city or country Finally, many people use social networks like Facebook to make new friends and find people to share a common interest and they interact through virtually rather than face to face.

On the other hand, the availability of new communication technologies can also have the result of isolating people and discouraging real interaction. It is often seen that new-age technologies have made people less sociable. They do not interact with their family members or neighbors because they are busy interacting with virtual friends. Moreover, the practice of making relationships or friendships online is fraught with dangers because people often assume fake identities and hide facts about themselves. Teenagers are often affected by this negative trend. For instance, statistics reveal that around 8% of people hide their actual identities on Facebook. Since there is no face to face interaction, it can lead to potentially dangerous outcomes.

To conclude, although technology has certainly made it easier for people and businesses to communicate with each other but not all of the outcomes of this revolution have been positive.