Music should not be taught in schools. Instead other subjects such as computers and science should be taught. DO you agree or disagree with this statement?

Academic learning plays an important role for the career development of children. Although many opine that science and computers should be a part of school curriculum instead of cultural arts like music, I completely disagree with this statement and believe that music offers refreshment of mind and body as well as can be pursued as a career option.

Proponents of the subjects of computers and science have several reasons for their opinion. One important reason is that computer skills are now a pre-requisite in most of the blooming job sectors. Thus, to ensure employment opportunities for students post graduation, computers are considered as a mandatory subject. Another significant reason is that the concepts and fundamentals taught in science will aid students who wish to make a career in the medical field. Hence, the students will obtain the basic knowledge of the scientific principles.

However, it is equally important that school pupils have a break from the stress and pressure of the academic studies. Therefore, subjects like music are essential to prevent mental pressure of exams on students. To illustrate, classical and trance music helps to refresh the mind of the students and rejuvenate their souls. In addition, there are many students who have a talent and are extremely passionate for music and wish to make a career in music. To exemplify, many students have the gift of playing musical instruments and inclusion of music in the syllabus will allow such students to follow their passion and make a career in the entertainment industry.

To recapitulate, university education is the foundation of the career life of children. Even though supporters of computers and science claim that music should not be taught in schools as it does not provide future growth, I disagree with the claim on the grounds that it is beneficial as it reduces mental stress as well as allows individuals with musical talent make a career in it.