News editors decide what to broadcast on television and what to print in newspapers. What factors do you think influence these decisions? Do we become used to bad news? Would it be better if more good news was reported?

The journalists filming and recording lots of material to be showed to people by TV or printed in newspapers. The most important factor that effects choosing of material is its own relevancy. News editors observe people’ interest and try to represent in the news the footage that will gather high number or viewers. For some reasons, the most popular sort of news is something terrible, shocking and frightening. For some reasons people mostly watching news about car accidents, homicides, hijacking and list goes on and on. In this essay I will discuss some problems, that caused this situation.

To begin with, for the last decade people have become more consumptive and materialistic. Everyone tries to have more expansive items, such as cellphones, PC tablets, home cinemas and other. People, especially youth, want to be better than their relatives and friends. This situation caused the negative outcome, particularly, people wishing bad to their buddies. They enjoy when something bad happened and that’s why bad news cause more interest than something good. To some extent, we get used to bad news. People see its very thrilling and eye-catching, rather than economical increasing in a country or simple building of a new educational facility, for example.

As more we become used to bad news, as much people become angrier and less kind and benevolent. To stop such tendency, the first thing we need is comprise more good and positive news in TV program and other sourced of mass media. However, it’s not enough just to show good news. To give a clear example, there is a war going in Ukraine. It’s almost impossible for reporters to show good news, as our native land was attacked by other nation… Hundreds of people dying every month. So in this case, governments should take all feasible measures to stop this conflict and then we will able to watch good news.

In conclusion, the huge amount of negative content in news caused by modern tendencies of life. To avoid this, reporters ought to pay more attention to good news and encourage folks to be more friendly, outgoing and be addicted to money.