News editors decide what to broadcast on television and what to write in
newspapers. What factors influence these decisions? Do you think we
become used to bad news? Should more good news be reported?
News editors have challenging decisions to make when deciding what to
publish because they must consider the interests of many competing factors.
The primary consideration for editors is the interests of their employers, or the
government if they play a significant role in determining the future of media
outlets. If owners have no particular interest in a story, editors will often
choose to publish many negative stories as they often contain warnings for the
general public, but this should be balanced with positive stories to avoid
pessimism and cynicism in society. In this essay the role of the media will be
discussed.
Editors are employees and although they make decisions about what is to be
published, they make those decisions with the interests of their owners in mind.
Media organisations often take a political stance and will favour one political
party over another to reflect the interests of the owner. In this way the media
influences political debate and are therefore very powerful. This situation is
both undesirable and unavoidable but the overall impact of individual media
organisations has become less because of the wide availability of different
information sources on the Internet.
If there is little political gain in a story then editors will generally choose to
publish more negative than positive stories in the media because these stories
often serve as warnings to the general public. For example, stories of children
dying because of being left in cars on hot days and people charged with serious
offences such as drug trafficking in other countries are useful reminders to the
population of the serious consequences of these actions.
However, it is important to balance negative articles with more positive articles
to avoid people becoming depressed and cynical and to remind people of the
goodness that exists in almost everyone. Stories of people rescuing others or
providing support to the ill and underprivileged are important in reminding us
of the many positive things that we do for others and are done for us each day.
In summary, news editors represent the owners of media organisations and will
make decisions in their best interest. Where there is little or no interest they
will usually report more negative stories as these serve as warnings to the
public, but balance these with positive ones to remind us of the goodness we
all possess.