News stories on TV and in newspapers are very often accompanied by pictures. Some people say that there pictures are more effective than words.

What is your opinion about this.

It is often said that "a picture speaks a thousand words". While it is an undeniable fact that today's media be it print, television or digital tend to use a lot of pictures to convey key messages, whether or not pictures are more effective at communicating the message than words is highly debated. In my opinion, though pictures are more effective than words in many situations, pictures alone may not always get the right message across and may need to be combined with words. In the following paragraphs, I will try to justify my stance with the reasons and relevant examples.

Prior to the discovery of photograph, i.e., till the second half of 19th century, print media was the most popular form of the media. Any form of mass communication, be it subject matter, books, news etc. was primarily done using print media. However, once photograph was discovered, people were quick to realize that pictures can be a very effective way to communicate which sparked their widespread adoption. Now-a-days, majority of the literature or text contain pictures which itself speaks for how effective pictures can be at conveying the message.

In addition, a person reading text may need to use his imagination to picture things in his mind and since the imagination varies from individual to individual, it introduces some ambiguity in to how the message is received. But, a picture on the other hand makes things very clear and leaves very little up to one's imagination. For instance, consider a text article in a newspaper on malnutrition and food scarcity in a backward country. When one reads the text they may or may not be able to relate to the content completely since it depends on various factors such as how effectively the article is written, how sympathetic the reader is and his imagination. But, when one looks at a picture of a poor malnourished person in a poor country, it conveys the true reality and gravity of the situation effectively and ends up stirring ones emotions.

However, some times, pictures alone too may not be able to convey the full context about the message that one is trying to communicate. For example, a picture of a politician delivering a speech in front of the audience will not be able to convey the exact content of his speech. Moreover, pictures can often be used to mislead the ones that are looking at them, for example, a picture with two controversial figures in it may lead to a lot of speculations and can be interpreted in the wrong way when in reality, they may have met casually or by coincidence.

In summary, though pictures often communicate the message better and are more effective than words, neither pictures nor words alone may be sufficient to paint a complete picture for the audience. A combination of pictures and words on the other hand can be extremely effective at ensuring that the key messages reach the target population and are interpreted

the right way.