Some people say that it is possible to tell a lot about a person’s culture and character from their choice of clothes.
Do you agree or disagree?
In the modern society, clothes and appearance are used quite often to judge and form a perception about a person. For example, a person wearing shabby
clothes may be perceived to be uncultured whereas a person wearing expensive clothes may be perceived to be refined and well mannered. However, I believe
that looks can often be deceiving and should not be solely relied upon while trying to infer a person's culture or character.
To begin with, if clothes were really an indicator of a person's culture, they why do we see a lot of white collar workers that appear to be of great
character and blend well in the society commit heinous crimes? For example, CEOs of multi-national companies such as Harvey Weinstein and film stars such as Kevin Spacey etc.
were accused and convicted of sexually harassing women at their workplaces.
On the other hand, people that wear cheap or simple clothes are not always of inferior character. For example, many great people such as Mahatma Gandhi, Dr APJ Abdul Kalam etc.
used to wear very simple clothes. Their sole focus was on what they were trying to achieve and not on their physical appearance and clothing.
Furthermore, many times judging a person purely based on their clothing can be misleading and very dangerous. For example, con-artists generally appear well groomed, well
dressed and trustworthy, but if one is not wise enough to see through the facade, they may end up falling prey to the con.
To sum up, a person's character should not be defined by what they wear, but instead be carefully assessed based on a holistic view of his / her personality.