News stories on TV and in newspapers are very often accompanied by pictures.

Some people say that these pictures are more effective than words.

What is your opinion about this?

This is an era of multimedia and journalism has been revolutionized by it. There are frequent news stories appearing with graphical images. Many believe that this is more effective than the text form of news while others disagree. In this essay, I will present both views and express my opinion for the former view.

Some would argue that adding images to the news items would not be effective as the intended audience is burdened with unnecessary details. They might further believe that keeping news limited to words can save extra costs involved in printing and greater space availability for other news items. Furthermore, the art of using words eloquently in any news item is lacking momentum because of pictures. This might prompt people to read less and look for images for comprehending the news.

On the contrary to the above, I believe on the adage of “A picture is worth of thousand words”. The advent of graphical images paved the way for a better understanding of the message. To illustrate this, one can easily grasp the news by a glimpse of an image and can arrive at its bottom line. Resultantly, if one gets attracted to the colorful content of the news, he/she can concentrate or else can move forward to the other piece of news. This saves a tremendous amount of time without decreasing the effectivity of the news.

In a nutshell, the graphical images in any news items are way much effective than the wordy content as it promotes better comprehension without losing the credibility of content.