Some people say that it is possible to tell a lot about a person’s culture and character from their choice of clothes.

Do you agree or disagree?

The selection of apparels may represent one’s values and behavioural characteristics. While many disagree that choice of clothes shed any light on someone’s culture and character, but others find it conclusive. I will support the former view and present my arguments in the ensuring writing.

Many cultures are associated with a specific type of clothes. For example, apparels are worn by a woman in the Middle East and many Muslim countries, often include full body cover and a veil as well. In addition to that, a specific colour of wearing can also guide us about relating a piece of cloth or a person wearing it, to a specific community. To illustrate this, a white colour gown is normally worn by Christian workers (nuns). Anyone seeing someone wearing the aforementioned clothes, will immediately relate her to a specific community and reckon them as religious.

Furthermore, the selection of typical dress also highlights the ethnicity, culture and general character of someone. It is a representation of a whole community and culture. Many Asian countries dwellers wear a piece of fabric around their lower part of the body while for the upper part of the body, they wear loose shirts. As an alternate, in the Western European and American cultures, they prefer clothes which are thinly attached to their bodies. These choices of clothes are based on a specific environmental condition.

Different regions of the world have different interpretations relating to wearing clothes. For instance, if someone in western culture starts wearing a veil, she might be considered to be influenced by religious beliefs while someone wearing short dresses in conservative countries would generally be regarded as western or lacking moral values.

To sum up, I strongly believe that the choice of clothes tells a lot about an individual, his/her culture and guesstimate of behavioural actions.