In Britain, when someone gets old they often go to live in a home with other old people where there are nurses to look after them. Sometimes the government has to pay for this care.

Who do you think should pay for this care, the government or the family?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Old age homes are a modern-day reality and are extremely beneficial social institutions and assets for any society. In my opinion, a society or any of its institutions can only flourish when all stakeholders take interest in its upkeep and hence I believe that both the government and families have a part to play.

Old age homes are an essential part of any national fabric and infrastructure and have high initial costs involved. Specialized buildings with enough room for residences and entertainment are required. Also, as being one of the most regulated sectors, these homes requires a wide range of costly approvals from the local health and municipal bodies. Trained care givers must be appointed. These homes also must deal with accessibility issues and hence the vehicles and buildings must cater to this as well. These initial costs coupled with the cost of keeping the facility running continuously in compliance with all regulations is a daunting task and a heavy burden on either the exchequer or the families of the residents. I believe all the above initial and running costs should be borne by the government.

However, there is a vested interest of family members in that they have access to specialized facilities where their parents or elders receive the care that they deserve. It allows the other family members to dedicate more time to their work while being assured that their elders are cared for. My own grandparents are in such a facility and I would feel happy to contribute to a fund which will ensure that quality care is provided for my grandparents

To conclude, I would suggest that voluntary contributions be invited from family members by highlighting the importance of these homes and their contribution to the society