News stories on TV and in newspapers are very often accompanied by pictures.

Some people say that these pictures are more effective than words.

What is your opinion about this?

Images are becoming more and more popular day by day. Every news story we see in the newspaper or television has a pictorial representation during current times. This essay will argue my opinion favoring usage of pictures while reporting the news, be it electronic or print media.

While reporting news in a newspaper, journalists, reporters and editors will make sure that a relevant picture shall be published at all times, because publishing news articles with captivating photographs will improve the circulation of their daily. Often, we say “A picture is worth a thousand words”. By printing photographs readers can quickly grasp the information. Although violence and amoral images are disturbing, they will have long-lasting effect on the brains of the readers.

When a news channel reports the content with pictures, viewership of the channel would be relatively high. Those pictures and speech will ease the cognitive process of public, including the illiterate people. According to an article published in a famous journal, people get attracted to news with relevant pictures rather than seeing a plain text. For instance, when reporting an accident, if a channel airs the picture of the incident, then viewers would feel more excited to watch. So, it is always advisable to have an image associated with the news.

This essay has argued that having a picture while reporting a news item in either print or electronic media is always a positive selling point to the publishers or broadcasters as that would grab the attention of subscribers with a long-term effect on their brains. Most of the time information can be processed through infographics for easy understanding of viewers. However, not all articles can be associated with images.