News stories on Television and in newspapers are usuallly followed by images and some demographics believe it is more efficient than text, while others think otherwise.

On the one hand news and information that is supported with pictorial representation often caughts the attention of the audience. Images are very powerful and are bound to create more awareness than ordinary text. We are also in the era of information explosion and have so much information to process. We get a lot of updates and alerts and cannot possibly read them all but seeing images with the alerts will enable us to filter and read only the ones that caught our attention. For example a recent survey in Abuja about the number of people that are likely to watch news or buy newspapers to read. The survey reveals that news or information supported with graphical images have the highest number of viewers and patronage.

Needless to say, textual news can be boring atimes and more often easy to forget the complete detail over a period of time , unlike visuals which are very easy to remember. A research shows that babies as early as 3 months, can recognize his or her family members easily through facial identification which is synonymous to images.

To conclude, some people believe that when news on entertainment media such as TV and newspapers are accompanied with pictures they tend to be productive than just mere text while some people are of different opinion. They believe pictures has no special effect on the efficacy of the news, but I opine, that pictorial representation of news and information is optimum