Now a days technologies is increasingly being used to monitor what people are saying and doing ( For example , through cellphone tracking and security cameras) In many cases, people being monitored are unaware that this is happening.

Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

In recent days, people’s behaviors are being observed without their knowledge by many means like surveillance cameras and mobile phones, the offspring of recent technologies. There are many merits and demerits in that, the same will be discussed by the impending essay.

There are multiple benefits in doing monitoring citizens. Firstly, many deadly crimes involving human lives and thefts are successfully investigated and identified by overhearing the mobiles and analyzing the videos recorded by security cameras. In recent times, these are the boons for the police departments and for Forensic too since they are mainly dependent on the same. For instance, the home ministry of the Indian government recently declared that nearly 40 percent of crimes are being solved by surveillance videos. Secondly, not just used in the investigation, it is widely used to avoid such incidents too since many of the bank robberies and thefts are identified, much earlier than its action day in the respective departments. For example, the report of the International criminal police organization in the last month, clearly shows that 65 percent of financial crimes are being tracked and informed to respective country authorities and many of them were avoided before happening. Another report says the crime rate been dramatically declined once the cameras are installed in public places.

There are few drawbacks in the state of art technologies too. Firstly, there is a prolific increase in online bank fraudulent cases nowadays either by tracking the cellphone conversation or by hacking by criminals. For instance, nearly 70 percent of swindlings are happening mainly through the internet in recent days. Secondly, monitoring an individual’s activities is a breach of basic rights. Recently most of the intellectuals in the country and the human rights commission jointly condemn these activities.

To conclude, technologies have a great deal of both pros and cons in their own way. A far as my concern, if the disadvantages are handled by the respective technologists and authorities jointly definitely the advantages outweigh.