Nowadays anyone can use a mobile phone to answer work and personal calls at any place or 7 days a week. Does it have more positive or negative effects on individuals and society?

In the modern fast-pacing world, people are able to be contacted by phone for almost 24 hours a day. While this tendency may cause exhaustion as well as other health issues, I am convinced that it mostly brings convenience to a person and unites a society.

On the one hand, answering calls anytime and anywhere may be a key factor of physical as well as psychological health problems. Firstly, it could result in severe exhaustion as being in contact around the clock means that an individual may be disturbed even during a vacation or at midnight. This may consequently lower one’s energy level due to lack of sleep or rest. Not only might this be a crucial element in developing tiredness, but also constant disturbance is likely to provoke depression or anxiety. For instance, Japanese workers are known for their workaholic attitude which is expressed in constant answering their phone or checking their mail. This mostly costs those workers their overall health and even might lead to suicides due to the lack of rest and the possibility to relax.

On the other hand, despite the drawbacks of being in touch through a phone nonstop, I do believe that it could help to react faster to any emergency and organize a big group of people. Regarding the former, having a smartphone gives the opportunity to contact a family member or a co-worker in case of any problem at home or workplace and find an urgent solution to it. Moreover, the possibility of being contacted immediately provides society with a key instrument of uniting people to tackle important social problems. For example, in 2013 in Ukraine, there was the so-called Dignity Revolution when a huge number of protestants were able to gather in less than 15 minutes just by making phone calls to each other. This helped them to defend themselves from being beaten by governmental enforcers and had a crucial effect on the whole revolutionary process.

To conclude, phone calls can be responded anytime these days. This may be a disturbing factor for one’s health and for a society in general, nevertheless, I may argue that it is highly important for reacting to any type of urgency as well as for uniting people.